Have you been injured in a rideshare accident in Michigan? If so, get the legal help you need to navigate complex factual and legal issues in your case. Contact Davis Law Center today for a free initial claim evaluation to learn how our firm will fight to get you money for your medical bills, car repairs, lost earnings, and pain and suffering.

For over three decades, we’ve provided legal support and advocacy to accident victims who need it the most. We understand how difficult life is right now, but we want you to know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel.

Common Causes of Rideshare Accidents

Some of the most frequent causes of rideshare accidents include:

  • Speeding or driving too fast for conditions
  • Tailgating/following too closely
  • Reckless driving, including excessive speeding or swerving through traffic
  • Double-parking or parking in an active traffic lane
  • Running red lights or stop signs
  • Turning, changing lanes, or pulling into traffic without signaling or checking mirrors
  • Illegal or unsafe turns, lane changes, or passes
  • Distracted driving, including using a cell phone or mobile app while driving
  • Drowsy/fatigued driving, especially as many rideshare drivers work long hours and drive in the late evening/early morning hours to cater to the nightlife crowd
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs
  • Driver inexperience or unfamiliarity with traffic laws
  • Inadequate vehicle maintenance

Injuries That Occur in Rideshare Accidents

An auto accident involving a rideshare vehicle can cause injuries of varying severity, such as:

  • Lacerations, abrasions, and degloving injuries
  • Broken bones
  • Dislocated joints
  • Ligament, tendon, and muscle tears
  • Whiplash
  • Nerve damage
  • Herniated spinal disc injuries
  • Internal organ injuries and bleeding
  • Spinal cord injuries and paralysis
  • Facial injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Burns
  • Amputation or limb loss

Who Can You Hold Liable for a Rideshare Accident?

Various parties may bear responsibility for causing a motor vehicle accident involving a rideshare vehicle. Depending on what happened, you might pursue a legal claim against:

  • The rideshare driver: A rideshare driver who negligently or recklessly injures other people or damages others’ property in a crash will bear liability for the resulting expenses or losses.
  • The rideshare company: Although rideshare companies typically do not employ the drivers on their networks, they provide insurance coverage for their drivers once they have logged onto the company’s mobile application and made themselves available for pre-arranged ride requests. A rideshare accident victim may have the right to seek coverage from the rideshare company’s insurance. 
  • Another motorist: You may have a claim against the driver of the other vehicle in addition to your right to request personal injury protection coverage from the rideshare driver or company’s insurance. 

Michigan law requires rideshare drivers to possess insurance coverage, either separately purchased or through the rideshare company. This coverage must meet minimum policy limits, which vary depending on the rideshare driver’s status at the time of the accident.

If the driver has logged into the rideshare company’s network but does not have a pre-arranged ride request, they should have:

  • At least $50,000 per person, $100,000 per incident of residual third-party bodily injury liability coverage
  • At least $25,000 per incident of residual third-party property damage liability coverage
  • Personal injury protection coverage at the $250,000, $500,000, or unlimited coverage limit

If the driver has accepted a pre-arranged ride request or has a customer in the vehicle, they should have residual third-party combined liability insurance coverage of at least $1 million, plus personal injury protection coverage.

Recovering Compensation After a Rideshare Accident

After a rideshare accident, you may have the right to obtain compensation for the following:

  • Costs to repair your car or reimbursement of your car’s value if it was totaled by the accident
  • Medical treatment and physical/occupational therapy expenses
  • Costs of long-term care for severe disabilities
  • Lost wages or income from missed work
  • Lost earning capacity and job benefits if you become disabled from your current position or other kinds of work
  • Pain and suffering
  • Reduced quality of life caused by disabilities or visible scarring/disfigurement

What Steps Should You Take After a Rideshare Accident?

Here are some practical steps you can take after a rideshare accident to protect yourself and your right to compensation:

  • Get medical attention and follow your treatment plan and recovery instructions.
  • Report the accident to your insurance provider, the rideshare company’s insurer, and the insurers of other drivers involved in the accident. Keep your statements brief and factual.
  • Request copies of the police accident report and your medical records.
  • Keep any bills, invoices, or receipts to document your expenses, and gather your pay stubs or income statements if you miss work or lose earnings.

Finally, contact a rideshare accident lawyer from Davis Law Center immediately after a crash to discuss your legal options and next steps. 

Benefits of Hiring a Rideshare Accident Attorney in Farmington Hills

When you turn to us for help after a rideshare accident, the Davis Law Center will handle the details of preparing and pursuing your insurance and legal claims. That way, you can focus your time and energy on your treatment and rehab. Let us help you pursue the financial resources you need for your recovery by:

  • Investigating the auto accident to gather evidence for your case
  • Reviewing the facts and evidence we uncover, interviewing witnesses, and working with experts to develop a compelling legal case
  • Filing your claims and dealing with the insurance adjusters, rideshare company representatives, and defense attorneys
  • Aggressively negotiating for maximum compensation for you in a settlement
  • Taking your claims to court and trial if insurers refuse to provide you with a fair financial recovery

How Long Do You Have to File a Rideshare Accident Claim?

Michigan’s statute of limitations on injury/property damage claims typically gives you three years after a rideshare accident to file suit. However, claims for Personal Injury Protection benefits, i.e. medical bills, wage loss, replacement services, attendant care, etc., must be made within one year from the date of the crash.  Because courts strictly enforce deadlines on filing legal claims, you may lose your opportunity to recover compensation if you file your lawsuit after the limitations period expires on your rideshare accident claim. Consulting a rideshare accident lawyer from Davis Law Center can help you protect your rights by filing your claims on time. 

Contact Davis Law Center Today to Discuss Your Legal Options

If you’ve been hurt while riding in a rideshare vehicle or after getting hit by a negligent or reckless rideshare driver, you deserve fair compensation. Contact Davis Law Center today for a free, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Michigan rideshare accident lawyer to discuss your legal options for pursuing financial recovery. 

Davis Law Center: your trusted partner for personal injury accident cases. Serving Detroit, Farmington Hills, Southfield, Macon County, Wayne County, Oakland County, and all of Michigan.